The castle Marusevec is located in the village of the same name, in the county of Varazdin.The name's origin goes back into remote times when, according to legend, Marusa, a Chech lady, settled here and established residence. Several centuries later the locality became known as Marusevec.The castle, amidst the captivating magic of evergreen pine groves, flowers, a small pond, autochthonous fauna...an idyllic and bucolic environment, is situated 15 km from the city of Varazdin.With all its architectural beauty and apposite immersion in the surrounding landscape it exceeds in excellence over many similar creations of the time.There is no doubt that the castle is an authentic expression of tha past epochs and one of the oldest of its kind in northwest Croatia. It belonged to family Vragovic which was awarded a nobiliary title by king Louis I (Ludwig) in 1321. The name Baltazar Vragovic of Marusevec may be found in the oldest parochial ledgers in Marusevec. With the passage of time the castle was owned by counts Patacic until 1873. Later on, in XIX century, it came into baron Simbschen's possession; in 1873 it is passed over to Prussian baron Schlippenbach. The latter undertook extensive works on the site: erecting a tall tower annexed to the existing structure; refurbishing the edifice in a typically Germanic style and placing a huge coat-of-arms on the tower's eastern face.These undertakings gave the castle a quasi majestic new aspect. After his death in Cairo his widow, Luisa von Wartemberg, sold the estate to Dr. Oscar Pongratz. In 1884 the castle underwent another significant refurbishment. The main entance portal was constructed on the castle's southern face and Pongratzīs coat- of -arms placed above it. Also, various extensive and significant interior works were performed among which is a totally remodeled atrium with impressive access stairways and ceilings and doors "boisserie" in magnificently carved wood. All the restorations were completed by 1901, the date which has been engraved above the service entrance door on the north-western side of the castle. All the works were carried out under the supervision of master craftsmen and experts from Vienna, Italy and Holland, as per designs made in London, England.The entire tapestries adorning the stairways in the atrium, with motives of forest and hunting scenes, are works of art by Monacelli of Rome. After dr. Pongratz's demise in 1945 the estate has been expropriated and put under the custody of the state, namely, the County of Ivanec, as a historical site. Since 1969 the castle is administered and used by the Christian Adventist Church for cultural and educational purposes. There is a high school, a faculty of theology and students residence - under the generic name "Adventist College in Marusevec". This way, the present-day young inhabitants of this already historical establishment, amidst the centennial oaks of the surrounding park and forests composed by the most exotic species of trees, the country fauna, the picturesque paths inside the forests, the pond... as if by magic, form a wonderful synthesis of the past and of the present. Many visitors from Croatia and of the countries from all over the world, remain delighted with the castle and the hospitality of their hosts. That is the reason why many of them repeatedly visit the site. Among the most assiduous visitors can be mentioned the poet Gustav Krklec, the man for whom the castle, still from his very childhood, undoubtedly has been and still is a permanent source of motivation and inspiration, as "a real charm and enigmatic magnificence" Since 1999, and so far, the castle pertains to the municipality of Marusevec.